top of page

Marriage is still a good idea..

Hi lovelies,

I've been busy celebrating my first wedding anniversary which was March, 22nd. The celebration was timely as it followed my husband's birthday which was March 18th. As most of you already know this is my second marriage. A very wise man once told me, "the first is practice, the second is the real thing". I died laughing during that conversation. But I can only speak for myself as I know many people who've had successful first marriages. One of the things I've learned over the years is how important your values and morals are in shaping and setting a solid foundation for any relationship. Once you start to compromise on those standards, morals, and personal values or beliefs that make you, you, then you start to lose your identity and your unique individuality.

I'm very happy and grateful that God who's the center of my life has blessed me with a partner who shares my values, my beliefs and my morals. The foundation of our marriage is based on God. Built upon that foundation is other elements such as respect, love, honesty, communication and so forth. Now I'm not saying compromise is a bad thing. In everything you have to give and take but, it depends on what you're compromising and if that compromise makes you a completely different person. For example, compromising and accepting someone treating you very disrespectful and devaluing you as a person.

I titled this blog 'Marriage is still a good idea." One of the things which can quickly shake your confidence and beliefs is failing at something on your first attempt. Such as marriage. The first one failed so why even bother to consider the second one? Wrong! For me, I looked at all the elements in my first marriage both good and bad and analyzed how things could have turned out different if viewed from another angle. Mind it, some things are just not fixable. But, I looked at those elements and learned from each and every aspect. I prayed and asked God to lead the way the second time around. Now I'm happily married. Is it perfect? Are we perfect? NO! But, we have a solid foundation as I mentioned earlier that helps us to navigate through situations or issues when they arise. When there's a disagreement, we communicate in a very loving and respectable manner. Sometimes it hurts when you're wrong and the next person is right. It hurts! But, for you to learn and grow you have to acknowledge when you're wrong and the next person is right.

So, yes, I can say for me the first was practice and this second is the REAL THING :)

Enjoy these #bathroomselfie LOL that I took on the day of my wedding anniversary.

Anniversary outfit. Click on the underlined item to be directed to the website where the same item can be found.

Day outfit

Skirt from Kohls

Shirt H&M

Shoes Burlington store (a few years old)

Dinner outfit

Dress Akira Chicago

Faux fur vest (similar here)...mine is from last year and is sold out

Shoes Blue fringe heels Justfab

Love and blessings

Jeneise Briggs


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • White YouTube Icon
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page