top of page

Bold Prints/Patterns/Plaids...

Hello oh, gorgeous one :)

I truly hope you had a wonderful and productive week!

It's almost Friday! Many of you probably have your calendar full of fun weekend activities to do with family and friends. This week I wore plaid two days in a row. I'm really appreciating myself stepping out of my comfort zone in terms of fashion and my personal style to experiment with new colors, textures, and designs. I remember several years ago the only pieces of clothing in my closet were neutrals (items that lack color). I slowly integrated colors and different textures of clothing in my existing wardrobe. I have to tell you guys, it changed my style. It expanded my choices in clothing. One of the things I don't have much of in my closet are plaids and bold prints. Usually, to incorporate these pieces into my wardrobe I'm constantly asking myself, is it my style? will it compliment my skin tone? how versatile is it? will I be able to wear it multiple times in multiple ways? So, finally, I found a tweed jacket from Lands End and a plaid cropped ankle pants also from Lands End that I'm loving. If I wanted to go BOLD or go home I would wear them both LOL But, I'm not that adventurous or rather, I don't wish to look ridiculous! So what I did was wear each item with other colors. As you can see in the picture below I wore neutrals with my plaid pants but choose a color from the pants for my shoes which completed the outfit in a posh way :). The tweed jacket I wore with white pants again neutrals and a lilac blouse a color from the jacket to complete the look. Here are a few tips in wearing plaids or bold prints:

1. Choose to wear one piece at a time. You can complete the outfit with neutrals. However, if you're wearing a plaid shirt and you have a plaid accessory like a hat its perfectly fine to wear them together

2. Neutrals are your best friend. They go with anything!

3. Feel free to choose one color from your plaid or bold pattern item to complete your look. If you decide you don't want to wear neutrals then choose one of the colors from your plaid shirt and rock on baby!

4. Dress for the occasion. Kind of a no-brainer right? different fabrics and textures and styles will give you an idea of what best fits the event you're attending

5. Dress for the season (cough, cough). I need to learn this rule as I sometimes choose cute over warmth. I think I'm so over winter and want to pull out all my nice spring clothes but then the temperature outside is saying, "You better think again". argh yep, It's supposed to snow tomorrow.

6. Oh, one more thing. Bold patterns and plaids vary in sizes. Unless you're going for a certain look like an oversized shirt. I think your look will appear more polished when you wear the right size clothing. I'm just saying. For example a baggy plaid shirt and a flared skirt. Did you just imagine those two together? not so fancy right. Now picture a fitted plaid shirt and a flared skirt? aah you get the point.

My outfit. Click on the underlined item to be directed to the website where you can find the same item or similar. Enjoy

Ps. If I did not link an item it's because I've already provided the link in previous blogs. The search button will pull up that blog for you :)

Picture #1

Pants cropped ankle plaid pants Lands End

Shoes Steve Madden mall purchase

Jacket H&M

Belt New York and Company

Blouse Bisou Bisou

Picture #2

Jacket Lands End

White pants New York and company

Belt New York and Company

Purse Louis Vuitton

Shirt The Limited

Hair My DIY project LOL :)

Love and blessings

Jeneise Briggs


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • White YouTube Icon
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page